Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Michigan?

Yes, medical marijuana patients in Michigan can have a caregiver. Patients must complete a paper application if designating a caregiver.


Caregiver Requirements:

  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Never convicted of a violent or drug-related felony.
  • Primary caregivers must not have committed a felony within the last 10 years.
  • Patients may designate one caregiver. Caregivers can have up to five (5) patients.

Here's how the caregiver process works:

  1. Your patient must designate you as their caregiver on a mail-in paper application. No mistakes or whiteout on paper applications!

    1. If your patient is already active and registered, they can add you using this form.
  2. A copy of the front of your valid state-issued driver's license or personal identification card must be included with the patient's application.
  3. There is no additional fee to become a caregiver.

State Resources: